Friday, October 21, 2011

Week With An Author - Daddy Rich - Giveaway - October 21, 2011



Today you have a chance to win an e-book copy of Mack's Revenge by Daddy Rich! All you have to do is fill out the form below and you are entered!



Enter Giveaway by filling out the form:


As you noticed, you get an extra entry for sending a fan mail letter to Daddy Rich! Here is his contact information in case you missed it before:



Daddy Rich: Contact him at @ Gangstalit on twitter and Facebook: Author Daddy Rich - friend him or they can write him directly at:

Richarh Tyson, 105754
5124 W. Reformatory Rd.
Pendleton, Indiana 46064
SEND HIM SOME FAN MAIL! - CHERYL
He's been waitin’ on his first piece of fan mail. If you write, please be sure to include a stamped envelope. In ink stamped envelope. If it’s the stick on kind he can’t have it.



You can visit his website at Gangsta-lit.com and buy his book!





© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamonds Book Reviews . All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, blackdiamondsbookrev.fatcow.com , Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Week With An Author - Daddy Rich - Interview - October 19, 2011

Daddy Rich Interview

About Your Book - Mack’s Revenge:

Cheryl: Describe your book in one sentence.

Daddy Rich: Dang, that’ s a hard one. “A fun and entertaining read—graphic and raw!”



Cheryl: How did you come up with the title?

Daddy Rich: The book, well at the end was all about Mack getting revenge. I had originally called it “All Hell Breaks Loose”. Winter Giovanni came up with the title for me.



Cheryl: Is there a message in the book that you want readers to get?

Daddy Rich: Yeah, there’s a couple. I want the youngstas to understand there’s only two ways out of the dope game—death or prison. I haven’t experienced death, but prison is lonely. It’s bullshit. The second message is for law enforcement. Everybody ain’t gonna just lay down and go to prison. Police plant evidence and lie on the stand all across the country. The shit I depict in my book be on people’s mind. Keep on. It will start happenin’ for real.



Cheryl: Are any parts of Mack’s Revenge realistic?

Daddy Rich: Yes, damn near all of it. Mack’s Revenge is based on my life. I take you from 2003 when I got my realtor’s license and was sellin’ cocaine to fund my real estate career all the way to 2005 when I was set up by the task force.



Cheryl: Did you have a favorite character in Mack’s Revenge, and why did you like that character?

Daddy Rich: Big Mack of course. He’s the narrator, and dude is funny as hell



Cheryl: If Mack’s Revenge had a theme song, what would it be and why?

Daddy Rich: Another hard one. “Hustlin” by Rick Ross because 90 percent of the book is about Big Mack getting’ his hustle on.



About Writing In General:



Cheryl: How do you begin writing a book? Do you start with an outline? Do you hand write anything or type it out?

Daddy Rich: I just go. I write down the characters and their roles. A couple key points and I roll out! I don’t want it to be too structured. I don’t want to be a predictable writer. When I begin to write, I don’t know the end yet. So, if I don’t know the outcome while I’m writing, the reader won’t know while they’re reading.



Cheryl: Do you have a certain writing style?

Daddy Rich: Yes, I write Gangsta-lit. It’s a style I created. I write in a Midwest slang. My narrator sounds like a regular dude off the street. I can’t stand those “up tight, uppity” narrators.

Cheryl: Are any of your books based on things that you have experienced in your life or the life of someone you know?

Daddy Rich: All of ‘em are. It’s either things I’ve experienced or witnessed. I base my characters off people I know. That’s why they’re so real. I mean, when people discuss my books, they speak about my characters like they’re real people. It’s because they are. That lets me know that I’m a good writer. People actually hate Beck Sue (one of the characters in Mack’s Revenge). To have the readers emotionally involved is a good thing.



Cheryl: Do you have any rituals that you use when you are writing or a certain place you go to get inspired?

Daddy Rich: Yep. When possible, I make sure I’m high as hell. And I bounce between the T.V. and the radio. If there’s nothin’ good on the radio, I’ll listen to the T.V. I just need some good background noise.



Cheryl: How many books have you written?

Daddy Rich: I’ve written 5 full length novels and 2 short stories. I just began working on my 6th novel. I’m co-writing a book with a fellow inmate. His name is James Green.



Cheryl: Did you have to do much research when writing your books? If so, do you tend to write first or research first?

Daddy Rich: No. I try to write about what I know. But occasionally, I need to have my wife look up a few things. I just jump in. I just do the research on an as needed basis.



Cheryl: What advice would you give to those aspiring writers out there?

Daddy Rich: Do it! Quit procrastinating! Pick up your pen and go!





About Your Reading:

Cheryl: Are you reading anything right now?

Daddy Rich: As a matter of fact, I am. I’m reading a book called Thick Face, Black Heart. It’s by Chin-Ning Chu. It’s about doing what you need to do to succeed and not givin’ a FUCK what people think about you. People who take off and try to be successful fall victim to all kinds of ridicule from people who are lesser. It’s what it is. Fuck ‘em.


Cheryl: What are some of your favorite books and authors?

Daddy Rich: The Quran, written by none other than Allah. From the Browder File: 22 Essays on the African American Experience (From the Browder File Series) by T. Anthony Browder. Street Dreams: A Novel by K’wan. The whole collection of Donald Goines, and “Shh….” Written by me. I promise I’m not bein’ conceited. I just love the book. I had a lot of fun writing it. I’ve actually read it several times for entertainment. Not to proofread or edit, to just read. And it kept my attention. I couldn’t believe I wrote it.



Cheryl: Has writing your own book changed the way that you read?

Daddy Rich: Yes, and I hate it. It’s hard for me to read a book for enjoyment. I study every book I read now. I dissect it. I try to find what I need to do to step my game up and be better. I’ve actually read some of the best selling urban fiction to see what it is that the readers love about their books. I’m trying to learn and master my craft. I believe that I am a best seller. I just gotta get my promotion and marketing together. Once I do that, I’m a shut shit down! And I’m trying to reach out to the promoters and find me an agent.



Cheryl: Are you able to read when you’re writing and if so what books inspire you when you’re working on a novel?

Daddy Rich: Naw, I don’t want any outside influences, and I’m a sponge. So I’m extra careful. I want to make sure all my shit’s original, authentic, so I won’t read any urban fiction while I’m writing.



Cheryl: Are there other books you love or writers you admire that are from your local area?

Daddy Rich: I’m the only one from my local area. I’m layin’ the path down.





Personal Information:



Cheryl: If you have to describe yourself with one word, what would it be?

Daddy Rich: Diligent because I go after my goals tirelessly. I won’t stop. If I can’t knock down the obstacles in my way, I jump over them or go around them. How many inmates start their own publishing and magazine companies? I’m trying to get it!



Cheryl: Where are you from:

Daddy Rich: I’m from a small dot on the middle of the map-- Marion, Indiana.



Cheryl: What three music artists are your favorite?

Daddy Rich: I don’t really have a favorite artist, but I do have favorite albums. I’d say Jeezy’s Thug Motivation mix tape, “Adrenaline Rush” by Twista and “Get Rich or Die Tryin’” by 50 Cent. I know you only asked for 3 but I can’t forget about “Ghetto Dope” by Master P.








Cheryl: What is one food item that you can’t live without?

Daddy Rich: Pussy, mmm good. I haven’t ate any in years and it’s killin’ me. It has to be nutritional, a baby grows in there. For real. But if I have to choose a food that you can throw in some grease, I’d have to say chicken. I love chicken.



Cheryl: What is your favorite color?

Daddy Rich: White. I love to wear white, and I’ve had several white cars.



Cheryl: How much time do you spend writing each day?

Daddy Rich: Too much. When I’m writing a book, I write around the clock. I mean, I only stop for naps and to eat. Plus, I write letters. I’m gonna catch carpel tunnel! LOL!



Cheryl: What famous person do other people tell you that you most look like?

Daddy Rich: No one really. But the other day me and some of the homies were crackin’ jokes on each other and they said I look like the lil dog on the Doritos commercial. The one that ran and knocked the glass door down.





Cheryl: What is the one thing about yourself that others would be shocked to know?

Daddy Rich: That I’m really laid back and down to earth. My name is Daddy Rich and I get money. People have this “image” of me like I think I’m too much, but I’m really down to earth. I’m easy goin’, and I have a good heart. I’m always tryin’ to help people.





Cheryl: Choose a book title for the story of your life.

Daddy Rich: “I done dug myself a hole” subtitled “And I’m tryin’ to climb back out” because I stay in my own way. I’m always fuckin’ shit up for myself. I’m my own worst enemy. I get myself in a hole and dig myself deep trying to climb out. Every venture I’ve created I’ve backed wit drug money. I always get locked up tryin’ to make it happen. This time I was already locked up when I created Gangsta-Lit, so I’m interested to see how this shit turns out. LOL!



Cheryl: What is next for you in 2011?

Daddy Rich: Books and more books. I’m trying my hardest to get some type of movie deal. I write movies. My books are vivid. I’m searchin’ high and low to turn my books into motion pictures.





Contact Information:

Cheryl: How can your readers contact you?

Daddy Rich: They can contact me @ Gangstalit on twitter and Facebook: Author Daddy Rich - friend me or they can write me directly at:

Richarh Tyson, 105754
5124 W. Reformatory Rd.
Pendleton, Indiana 46064
 
SEND HIM SOME FAN MAIL! - CHERYL
 
 
I’d love that. I been waitin’ on my first piece of fan mail. If you write, please be sure to include a stamped envelope. In ink stamped envelope. If it’s the stick on kind I can’t have it. These people are scared somebody can sneak acid in like that.



Cheryl: Is there anything you would like to add?

Daddy Rich: Buy my book. It’s very entertaining and raw. It’s a breath of fresh air. I promise you ain’t read nothin’ like it before. Support my cause. I’m writing to raise money to fight my case. I was set up by the task force and a lot of my rights were violated. Freedom ain’t free. I gotta get me an aggressive ass lawyer.





Cheryl: Thank you very much for taking the time out to answer my interview questions!

Daddy Rich: And thank you for sending them.



You can visit his website at Gangsta-lit.com and buy his book!



© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamonds Book Reviews . All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, blackdiamondsbookrev.fatcow.com , Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Week With An Author - Daddy Rich - Excerpt from Mack's Revenge - October 18, 2011




See Original Post Here:


http://blackdiamondsbookrev.fatcow.com/2011/10/18/week-with-an-author-daddy-rich-excerpt-from-macks-revenge-october-18-2011/

Please feel free go sign up for newsletters from my new WordPress blog and join through Google friend connect!

Monday, October 17, 2011

Week With An Author - Daddy Rich - Review of Mack's Revenge - October 17, 2011

This week I have the pleasure of bringing Author Daddy Rich to Black Diamond's Book Reviews!
Monday: Review of Mack's Revenge
Tuesday: Excerpt from Mack's Revenge
Wednesday: Interview with Author Daddy Rich
Thursday: Win an E-book of Mack's Revenge!
Friday: Week Overview
(I originally reviewed this book in December of 2010)

THIS IS WHAT'S UP!! - READ THIS BOOK AND YOU WILL SEE!

This is the story of "Big Mac" whose real name is Richard D McVickers. Big Mac is a rapper, a real estate agent and a drug dealer.
“I got 8 kids 6 baby mommas - 1 baby by each - and I got 2 stepsons with my wife Tanisha. I love them niggaz as my own. “ (p.2)
Richard "Big Mac" gets locked up and is held for attempted murder, criminal confinement, obstruction of justice, intimidation with a deadly weapon, and tampering with a state’s witness, (p.72). When he is being questioned, Detective Reece asked him about the Mexican's he has been dealing drugs with up north and he says
"Look, the dude’s name Up North is Kristopher - with a K- older white dude in his fifties. Pale, fat as hell with a white beard. I only met him once,” I said. “O.K. Kristopher what? What’s his full name?” “Kris um, Kringle, Kristopher Kringle.” “I thought your connection was Mexican. Kris Kringle sounds English or something. Sounds familiar, though. How does it all work; what’s the operation? (p.79)

"Reese’s nostrils flared. “You made me look like a damn fool! Santa Claus? You tell me you been getting dope from Santa Claus?” I don’t like being laughed at.” He threw his interview notes at me. (p.82)
As you can see, there is a lot of humor in this book. I was laughing out loud in some spots!
Meanwhile, his girlfriend Becky is out shopping and spending Mac's money. He calls her and needs bail money. He acts all fine about her spending money, and she thinks he is going to be pissed. He is pissed, but he needs her to bail him out and take care of his business. Becky seems like all she cares about is Mac's money. Yeah, Mac got himself into some trouble. If she is gonna be with him, she needs to support him.
Oh yeah, and there is some hot and heavy sex too.
"Y’all ain’t gonna believe what happened next! This b***h walked around her desk, sat on it, spread her legs wide open, and snapped her fingers and pointed to her p**sy (p.94)"
I was glad that his sister introduced him to her friend Tanisha. Tanisha seemed like a sweet girl and Mac really liked her. He had a lot of women, but I really felt in my heart that Tanisha was the one for him and he would always be true to her.
You need to read this book to find out what goes down, but I have to tell you that Mac gets locked up again and was set up by the drug task force. It pisses me off that he was set up. He was locked up in 2005 and is still locked up to this day. He was convicted of a crime that he was never actually charged with. This is a true life story (except for him killing anyone and escaping). He really wants to get across to the readers that he knows that he made some bad choices and drugs are not the way to go, but there are some people out there that just will do anything to better themselves, even if it means setting someone up to benefit themselves.
I loved the writing. It's totally a gangster book and he doesn't try and change the wording. He says it like it is. This book really opened my eyes to the gangster world. The sex scenes were off the chain!
I really hope that he can get out and be with his wife and kids and get his rap career rolling!
5 out of 5 diamonds!
Buy the Book here:



Disclaimer: I received this e-book direct from the author. I was not compensated for my review. My thoughts on this book were in no way influenced by the author or publicist. They are my personal reflections based solely on MY experience while reading this novel.
© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond's Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved.

Saturday, October 15, 2011

The Arranger by L.J. Sellers – Blog Tour – Review & Interview – October 15, 2011

About the Book:

The year is 2023 and ex-detective Lara Evans is working as a freelance paramedic in a bleak new world. She responds to an emergency call and is nearly killed when a shooter flees the home. Inside she finds the federal employment commissioner wounded, but she’s able to save his life.
The next day Lara leaves for the Gauntlet—a national competition of intense physical and mental challenges with high stakes for her home state. She spots the shooter lurking at the arena and soon after, she lands in deep trouble. Who is the mysterious assailant and what is motivating him kill? Can Lara stop him, stay alive, and win the Gauntlet?


My Review:
The Three Reasons Review is a simple way to get your thoughts out there about a book. The reasons are as follows complete with fancy button:

1.) Reasons you chose this book
I liked the cover. It looked like a mysterious book which I love!
2.) Reasons you liked or disliked this book
  • I liked this book because it kind of reminded me of survivor and The Hunger Games (parts of the story). I don't really watch survivor that much, but I loved The Hunger Games.
  • I liked this book because it was interesting to see how Paul was going to do the tasks that he set out to do. He was in another aspect of the story (not the one above).
  • I liked how Paul was a memorable character. He did something that ended up going his way, but then he got a little greedy. I would have like to see a picture of the transformation that was described in this book.
  • Based on my last like, I would say that this book would be a great movie. For some reason, I would say that the parts would be played by Steve Carell. I don't know why, but he is who I pictured for Paul. Maybe its the fact that he is a "frumpy programmer". Also between his character on The 40 Year Old Virgin and The Office, I just had him sticking in my mind. Although Paul in this book is devious and I don't really see that in Steve Carell, but you never know! I guess the reason I see him is because Paul seems nerdy and like a lost puppy. I feel bad for Paul because he just wants to be accepted. I am not sure who would play Lara. I'm seeing a redhead, maybe. I am going to Google redheaded actresses and see what I see. I found her: Julianne Moore. She is the one.
  • Okay, this is supposed to be a book review, but now I am thinking movie. Obviously I liked the book enough think that people would pay to see this story on the big screen. There was enough action to it and I wanted to see if Lara would win the game and what was going to happen with Paul.
  • I liked this book because there were no errors in it.
  • I'm trying to think of why I disliked this book and I'm really not coming up with anything. It took me a while to read, but it's because of lack of time and not lack of interest in the book. Actually, I was supposed to post my review a few weeks ago and I missed it. I feel so bad, but I'm finally getting it up on here.
3.) Reasons you are recommending this book
  • I recommend this book because it has two different stories within one and they tie in at the end.
Rating:





  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0983213852
  • Publisher: Spellbinder Press (August 12, 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005H7Q0AA
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Source: L.J. Sellers (Thank you!!!!!)
L.J. Sellers

L.J. Sellers is an award-winning journalist and the author of the bestselling Detective Jackson mystery/suspense series: The Sex Club, Secrets to Die For, Thrilled to Death, Passions of the Dead, and Dying for Justice. Her novels have been highly praised by Mystery Scene, Crimespree, and Spinetingler magazines, and the series is on Amazon Kindle’s bestselling police procedural list. L.J. also has three standalone thrillers: The Baby Thief, The Suicide Effect, and The Arranger. When not plotting murders, she enjoys performing standup comedy, cycling, social networking, and attending mystery conferences. She’s also been known to jump out of airplanes.


L.J. Sellers Interview
About THE ARRANGER:

Cheryl: How did you come up with the title THE ARRANGER?

L.J.: One of the main characters, Paul Madsen, is given access to federal personnel information that he can’t resist exploiting. He uses the information to arrange for clients to land new, better jobs and for some employees to lose theirs. I started thinking of him as the arranger and the name stuck. My husband loved the title too and encouraged me to use it.



Cheryl: Is there a message in the book that you want readers to get?

L.J.: The broad idea is that the United States could end up in a dark and ugly place if social and economic issues continue the way they’re going. The other theme is that there are people in this world we look right past, because they’re shy or unattractive, but those people have feelings and value, and they want attention just like the rest of us.



Cheryl: Are any parts of THE ARRANGER realistic?

L.J.: The entire story is realistic. It’s the only kind of fiction I write. It has elements that are imaginative, such as medical inventions that aren’t on the horizon yet and a national competition with jobs as the grand prize. But all of those things could easily come true. The story isn’t paranormal, sci-fi, or fantasy. It’s a gritty, realistic look at the future.



Cheryl: Did you have a favorite character in THE ARRANGER, and why did you like that character?

L.J.: The story is told predominantly from two characters’ perspectives, Lara Evans and Paul Madsen. Lara is a homicide investigator/paramedic from my Detective Jackson series, and she had a major role in my last novel, Dying for Justice. I had so much fun writing from her perspective that I knew she needed her own story, in which she could be as physical as she wanted to be. She’s definitely my favorite character in The Arranger.





About Writing In General:



Cheryl: How do you begin writing a book? Do you start with an outline? Do you hand write anything or type it out?

L.J.: I write exclusively on my computer, and I usually start each story with some broad ideas. I eventually develop and write out what I call the story logic—all the character motivations, connections, and events. (Lara responds to an emergency call, witnesses a crime, and meets the commissioner. She keeps his secret because he controls the Gauntlet, a contest she is scheduled to compete in.) I include incidents in the backstory and even the events that don’t happen on the page where the reader can see them. This process ensures my plot doesn’t have any gaping holes that make readers think: WTF? Next, I start outlining, usually by day of the week, because my stories all take place in a short period of time. About halfway through the outline, I start writing the first chapter because I’m eager to get started or because I come up with a good opening. I keep outlining the second half as I write .



Cheryl: Do you have a certain writing style?

L.J.: Because my background is in journalism, I tend to write lean and my prose is straightforward. I focus on clarity and immediacy rather than on creating lush or lyrical prose. Many readers have commented that my storytelling style is unique and compelling, but they haven’t really articulated what the style is.



Cheryl: Are any of your books based on things that you have experienced in your life or the life of someone you know?

L.J.: I draw from my life and my family members lives all the time. For example, Wade Jackson, from my detective series, has a trike-building hobby like my husband, and he also has a rare health issue like my husband. Both of those elements are unusual and make Jackson an interesting character. In Passions of the Dead, I wrote about unemployment and economic issues, and I drew from experiences that my extended family members were going through. So far, I haven’t written stories that focus on the most painful phases in my personal life because it would be too stressful. (Some day, when I’m old and medicated, I’ll probably write a memoir and tell everything.) Still, all of my female characters have elements of my personality and they share my life experiences, such as grief, addiction, food/weight issues, layoffs, etc.



Cheryl: Do you have any rituals that you use when you are writing or a certain place you go to get inspired?

L.J. I’m not a ritualistic person but I do exercise faithfully every day. During my workout sessions, I often brainstorm plots and usually get my best ideas while I’m in cardio mode. I’ve never really experienced writers block. I think it’s my journalism background that has trained me to get words on the page, no matter what. For me, writing is craft and my occupation. I don’t wait to be inspired. I work my brain until I have the right collection of ideas, then I sit down and do it.



Cheryl: How many books have you written?

L.J.: I’ve written ten and a half novels, with eight of them now on the market. My first two were practice novels, both about serial killers, and neither will ever be published. I also abandoned one novel halfway through when my agent said he didn’t like it. I may eventually dig it out and finish it. That agent didn’t like The Sex Club either, and it became a bestseller on Kindle. I also just released a nonfiction book that’s a collection of blogs, articles, and writing advice—called Write First, Clean Later, my personal motto. In addition, I’ve written five screenplays, three of which are comedies.



Cheryl: Did you have to do much research when writing your books? If so, do you tend to write first or research first?

L.J.: Before this one, my last five books were police procedurals, and over the years I’ve interviewed several homicide detectives, a crime scene technician, a medical examiner, and a SWAT sergeant. For the first two Jackson stories, I conducted the interviews before I started writing because I felt like I had to. For the last two in the series, I started writing and waited until I knew specifically what I needed to ask to make certain scenes authentic. For The Baby Thief, a standalone thriller, I did extensive research into fertility science throughout the writing of the story. My current release, The Arranger, is set in the future, so there wasn’t much I could research, except self-defense techniques.



Cheryl: What advice would you give to those aspiring writers out there?

L.J.: For writers just getting started, I advise them to study the craft. Read Writers Digest and take writing workshops. For writers who’ve been at it a while and know they have a professional product, I would advise them to take charge of their publishing career and get their work out there independently. For writers who have already published and are struggling to build a readership, be tenacious and patient. It will happen.





About Your Reading:



Cheryl: Are you reading anything right now?

L.J.: I’m reading a collection of short stories called Shaken. It’s written by a terrific group of authors, and the proceeds go to help the tsunami victims in Japan.



Cheryl: What are some of your favorite books and authors?

L.J.: Two of my all-time favorite books are futuristic thrillers: The Tomorrow File by Lawrence Sanders and The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. My current favorite authors are Michael Connelly, John Sandford, and Harlen Coben. Two of the best crime fiction books I’ve read recently are Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell (about a hit man who becomes a doctor!) and The Lock Artist by Steve Hamilton (about a psychologically mute safecracker). Both were very compelling.



Cheryl: Has writing your own book changed the way that you read?

L.J.: Unfortunately, yes. The more I write the less I read. It’s the worst thing about being a novelist. I also worked as an editor for decades, and I trained my brain to read slowly and carefully, looking for errors. I have trouble turning that off, and it tends to ruin a lot of stories for me.



Cheryl: Are you able to read when you’re writing and if so what books inspire you when you’re working on a novel?

L.J.: When I’m writing a first draft, I tend to read short stories. Not only do I love the genre, they also work well with my limited attention span for reading. Because I write crime stories, I’m often inspired by what I see in the news. I’m a news junkie, and real crime is a great source of fodder for my work.



Cheryl: Are there other books you love or writers you admire that are from your local area?

L.J.: Locally, I’m friends with Carola Dunn, who writes the Daisy Dalrymple mysteries. She writes historical fiction, which I don’t read, but I admire her productivity and skill, and I know she has fans around the world. I’m also friends with Marva Dasef, a terrific Eugene writer, who I have read and enjoyed.







Personal Information:



Cheryl: If you have to describe yourself with one word, what would it be?

L.J.: Energetic.



Cheryl: I see that you were born in California, also lived in Phoenix, but spent most of your life in Oregon. What is it like there? Is that your favorite place to live?

L.J.: I love Eugene, Oregon. It’s beautiful (green), and is both intellectually stimulating and laid back at the same time. I wish it were warmer, but you can’t have everything. Phoenix, on the other hand, was quite warm, but it’s an ugly city that extends for 70 miles in the desert. After living most of my life in Oregon, Phoenix never felt like home. I hope to someday have a winter home in Maui. J

Cheryl: What is a typical day in your life like?

L.J.: Busy! I get up around six, read some news online, do a little promotion, then do an hour workout. After that, I may do more promotion (blogs, emails, press releases), or if I’m working on a first draft, I’ll start writing around ten. I usually write until five, with a break for lunch and maybe an afternoon bike ride or walk. After dinner I go back to work and do whatever is most pressing on my to-do list. It could be answering emails, working on my webs: ite, writing a guest blog, or a zillion other things. I’m usually at my computer until nine-thirty or ten. Then I read or watch TV for an hour or so. Many days are interrupted by “rescue calls” from my extended family, and I always make time for them.



Cheryl: What three artists would I find in your Ipod or CD player?

L.J.: I like just about any music that makes me want to dance. But my favorites are an eclectic mix: Queen, Steve Winwood, Nickelback, KC and the Sunshine Band, James Brown, and Kid Rock, to name a few.



Cheryl: If I came to your home and looked in your refrigerator what would I find?

L.J.: Lots of fruits and vegetables, with lean protein in the freezer. I eat very little processed food, almost no wheat, and very little dairy. My two weaknesses are peppermint patties and popcorn, but I try to limit sugar too.



Cheryl: What is one food item that you can’t live without?

L.J.: Beef. I’m a protein burner and I feel best when I eat red meat, so I listen to my body. But my weight and my cholesterol counts are very healthy.



Cheryl: What is your favorite color?

L.J.: Purple!



Cheryl: What do you like to do when you are not writing (hobbies, etc.)?

L.J.: I love to ride my bike, and I also go bowling with my brothers quite often. I love comedy too, so we watch standup whenever we can. I’ve also performed standup comedy several times, and it’s great fun.

Cheryl: What is the one thing about yourself that others would be shocked to know?

L.J.: I’m very open, and readers can learn almost anything about me on my website. Sometimes people who have known me for a while are surprised to discover I have several small tattoos near my ankles. Some people might be surprised to learn that my first husband tried to kill me, and his dog saved my life. And others would be surprised to know that public speaking terrifies me. This surprises me as well, because I’m an extrovert.



Cheryl: What is next for you in 2011?

L.J.: I’m working on the sixth book in my Detective Jackson series, and it may be released as early as December.



Contact Information:



How can your readers contact you?

ljsellers.novelist@gmail.com

http://ljsellers.com



Cheryl: Is there anything you would like to add?

L.J.: Thank you very much for taking the time out to answer my interview questions!

Cheryl: Thank you very much for the interview!





Disclaimer: I was provided a review copy from the author (THANK YOU!) I was not compensated for my review. My thoughts on this book were in no way influenced by the author or publicist.They are my personal reflections based solely on MYexperience while reading this novel.
© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond’s Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl’s feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

First Lines Friday - October 15, 2011

This is a bookish meme hosted by Literary Marie of Precision Reviews. Here is what you do:
  • Grab your current read(s).
  • Share the first line(s).
  • Include the title and author so that other FLF participants can add the book to their TBR Lists.




"It was a brisk and windy evening in late March, and I was walking towards my blue 1978 Datsun B210 right after baseball practice.  I was known as, Damien Hardy, a seventeen-year-old senior at Crenshaw High School in South Central Los Angeles.  My six-foot one frame complimented my muscular one hundred ninety-five pound build perfectly."


© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond's Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.


Thursday, October 13, 2011

Book Review - Beautiful by Kiexiza Rodriquez - October 13, 2011


Synopsis of Beautiful

Tierra Rodriquez, by most people’s standards is living the glamorous life. She is a successful business woman, who has worked her way up the male dominated ladder, at Baxwell Enterprisez, to land as head of the Marketing, Media and Entertainment Department, despite being haunted by ghosts from her past. But while she tries to juggle life, work, friendship, and a new love, Tierra finds her tightly wound cord of lies beginning to unravel for the first time in her adult life.
From trying her hand at love for the first time in her life, to estranged mother showing up at her doorstep, to her best friend laying her own set of secrets in her lap and a confession from her boss that shatters all she's knows so far. Tierra is tested to the brink of sanity and lands in the one place she swore she'd never return seeking solace.

After enduring the tragic death of the one he had searched so long for, Aquarian Skeene is hurt, confused and there is only one person on his mind, Tierra. Desiring to rekindle their lapsed friendship, and make good on a promise, he makes a phone call that’s seems to set off a series of events that takes them both down a path of unfamiliarity and uncertainty. As he tries to settle into his new job, and deal with his own secrets he is thrown into a life and death fight that brings everyone in both of their lives face to face testing not only their endurance but their faith.

With everything they know put on the chopping block on a daily basis, will these two get their act together and figure out what path they are destined to be on? Or will they continue to fall apart and become victims of their own secrets and silent fears?

My Review:
I was the lucky winner of a contest that the author put on for this story. What I had to do was read a little blurb about Tierra and her boss. I had to write what I thought was in the envelope and when she should get the envelope. I was really shocked that I won! Sorry, but I am not going to tell you what was in the envelope! You have to read the story for yourself!

Tierra and Qu were always the best of friends, but things happened and they lost touch. Their friendship was no ordinary one either. They were so close that they called themselves PB&J because she was the peanut butter and he was the jelly. I was glad they finally reconnected. Who is Beautiful you ask? Well she wasn't exactly who I thought she was, but she is the woman in Qu's life. It was actually because of her that Tierra and Qu get reunited.

Tierra had issues with God. She was just so mad at him and would not speak to him. She went to church and heard this message:

"The Lord speaks to each one of us in different ways. He may use your mother, your sister, your child, or even your boss. He might even use an unbeliever. God never said his messages would come in nicely wrapped packages from your pastor," the pastor could be heard saying from inside the packed church. "God doesn't do things the way WE want them done. He does things the way we NEED them done, so he can get out of us what holds us back, what keeps us from him. He wants to help us reach the next level. He sends us what we need, when we need it, in HIS time. We are on his schedule, not the other way around." (Kindle Loc. 1085-90)

I loved this book. Kiexiza Rodriquez did an awesome job with this first book of hers! The characters were great and so was the story. The thing though about this book that really drew me in was the messages about faith. It is so important to bring God into our lives. Sometimes you might wonder if he even answers your prayers, but this is an example of how he really does answer prayers. I recommend this book!


My Rating :

Beautiful
Author: Kiexiza Rodriquez
Published by: DiamondStar Entertainment; 1 edition (August 4, 2011)
Category: Inspirational Romance
IBSN 13: 978-1-463-65039-1
ISBN 10: 1-463-65039-6
ISBN SmashWords: 978-1-4524-6673-6
LCCN: 2011932578
Page count: 302
Size: 6x9, Paper Back

Author Kiexiza Rodriquez
Kiexiza Rodriquez, pronounced Ki-eek-sa, or Kie (Pie)u can just call her Kie, is the eldest of ten children, mother of four children, who resides in Virginia with her fiance and youngest two children.

Kie realized early on the importance of a pen and a blank piece of paper. She was able to express how she was feeling when life was too hard to endure. The older she grew, the more her love for the creative arts became. She honed her skills in the culinary arts, and creative writing, finding joy in being able to express herself through these avenues. Though, by the time she left high-school she didn't have her High School diploma and had given birth to a son shortly thereafter, she never allowed her circumstances to take away her joy.

As survivor of childhood abuse, witnessing domestic violence between her parents and then being a victim as an adult, Kie has endured things that at times she never thought she'd get though. Yet, somehow she found the strength to pick her head up and move forward, locking her pain away, and planting a smile on her face. No matter how many times she fell, she'd brush herself off and try again.

Professionally, she has spent over ten years in the entertainment industry working for different companies such as; Reflections Emporium, Woo Bear Promotions, and GumboLive, to name a few, assisting with things such as, marketing & promotions, A&R, venue planning, street team promotions, and administrative work in the New England area. In 2008 she began running promotions at Diamond Productions, where she is still the head of Promotions & Advertising today.

After many years of being told she had a story to share, she finally decided to share her personal story of survival with the world. Kiexiza’s goal is to create more than just a fictional story. Her novels aspire to entertain and provide life lessons mixed into the drama, humor, mystery and romance of her characters journey. She recently publishing her debut novel Beautiful, which is the first in a 5 part series. Its first sequel, “Beautiful Seduction” is planned for a December 2011 release. She also plans to release a book of poetry, a cookbook together with a friend, an anthology with Saving Lives Through Lit to deal with Domestic Violence, an anthology with Naughty Ink Press, a novel of short confessions, a book of the negative sayings we say to ourselves with their motivational counterparts on the flip side. She also has a book of short stories dealing with Mother and Daughter relationships, all planned to be released in the next 3 years.

Currently, she is half of the team of the dynamic blog-talk radio team the “Tony n Kie Show”. She contributes bi-weekly to Writers-Vibe, Mashawn.com and is also a book reviewer for So Fyh Magazine, and Editing Couture. She has been interviewed by, submitted stories or articles for publication to TheCEOMama, Soulful Nights, Christian Women Lifestyles Xpress, On The Rise Magazine, Sormag, Writers POV and others.
If your magazine or websites accepts submissions, Kiexiza would love to share a story or article with your audience. Please email her.

For more on Kiexiza, or to stay in touch, visit her Social Networking sites.
DSE Fan page.
TonynKieShow Group Page on FB
Author Kiexiza Rodriquez Fan Page
Tony~n~Kie Show FB Fan Page
Twitter Myspace BFHS
LinkedIn DJ DUB Network
Shelfari Wix Site AVON
Goodreads WordPress

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/kiexiza-rodriquez



Disclaimer:Thank you to the author for sending me a review copy. I was not compensated for my review. My thoughts on this book were in no way influenced by the author or publicist.They are my personal reflections based solely on MYexperience while reading this novel.
© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond’s Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl’s feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

Teaser Tuesday - October 11, 2011


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!
Grab your current read Let the book fall open to a random page Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
There is only one VERY IMPORTANT THING TO REMEMBER:

*** Do NOT post anything that could spoil the plot of the book!!! ***

If your sentences that fall between lines 7 and 12 on the page you turn to give too much away, choose a different page, or a different spot on the page… we don’t want to ruin any surprises for anyone!

My current read is: Ladies' Man by Frederick Germaine
Random Page # 19
Two sentences:

"You can take your pick of thick and sassy or petite and classy. A man like you can definitely keep a starting five"

NOTE:  
I am officially moved into my new WordPress blog at:  http://blackdiamondsbookrev.fatcow.com/,  Please feel free to subscribe to my new blog.  I will be keeping this blogger blog active for about 6 months to allow time for people switch over. 

© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond's Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Book Review - The Healing of Love & Laughter by Rickey Teems II - October 12, 2011



Synopsis:
Some smiles reflect more than just good times, occasionally they are a mask for pain. Comedian Isaac Golden learns the bright lights of Hollywood may shine for triumph, but in the shadows, drugs, wild women, and the fast life are waiting to take their toll on his soul. With the health of his childrens' mother on the brink, a sex-crazed mistress on the side, the criminal woes of his inept younger brother, and increasing stage opportunities, trying to balance ambitions of stardom with reality is no laughing matter. When his faith and obligations are challenged beyond his control, Isaac realizes that overnight success can be tomorrow's biggest failure. He soon finds himself in a deep and dark hole, clueless how it all happened so fast. Will he have any friends and prayer left to help him overcome the guilt and remorse of his ways, or will time run out before he can truly discover: The Healing of Love and Laughter.

Book Trailer

My Review:

You will laugh, you will cry, and you will be so surprised at the end!


I really tried to like Isaac. He was really such a funny guy! He cracked jokes that will have you rollin'! He wanted his dream of being a star comedian to come true so bad that he lost sight of what was going on around him. His first priority was himself. I found Isaac to be a very selfish person after the story got going. Remember, at first I really liked him. His problem is though that he had a one track mind---being a comedian no matter what the price. He wasn't thinking of what his girlfriend needed or his girls. He was determined he was gonna make it big. He said:

"Comedy has to be the way, he affirmed. It has to be what God intended for us to have a better life! "p. 29

His girlfriend Janna is in very bad health. She said it's okay for him to go, so why not go right? She was so unselfish that she wanted him to pursue his dreams while she stayed home with their girls. Janna said:

"When the Lord works on anyone, it‘s never an overnight process," Janna explained. "Just because we want everything right here, right now, doesn‘t mean that‘s His plan. God‘s at work. I can feel it. You may not be able to see it from the outside lookin‘ in, but from the inside lookin‘ out, it‘s there. So I‘m not stressin‘ whether Isaac is changin‘. I‘m not stressin‘ the hospital tomorrow. I‘m just keepin‘ my life and faith in God‘s hands.".........."I just have to believe. Everything works in God‘s favor if we just believe." p.64

This book was fast paced and I read it in one day. I really got immersed in the story. I didn't always like what was happening or how it ended, but I was just determined that Isaac was going to realize what he was doing and God would make it all right. When he started into drugs, it was hard to like what he was doing to himself and his family. I was trying to be optimistic like Janna. I was so glad that finally Isaac brought God into his life and when he realized that God doesn’t take things from us or do bad things to us. We do that to ourselves. When the pastor in the church was saying the message and Isaac went up to him, that was when I got chills. I know that addiction can really mess up a family. The addict doesn't realize the harm it can cause themselves and others until sometimes it's just too late.

Well done Rickey Teems II! You made me laugh with your wonderful sense of humor that I love! You made me mad when you went from what I had hoped to what is more realistic. You made me get teary eyed when you showed what can happen when you only think about what you want vs. thinking about what your family needs. It really did make me really stop and think about prayer. I believe in the power of prayer. I know my prayers will be answered, but only if I am willing to make some changes too. You can't keep making bad choices and expect everything to just float happily along.

My Rating : 

5/5 - Highly Recommend!

The Healing of Love & Laughter
Author: Rickey Teems II
Paperback
Publisher: NoGuile Books (November 11, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0983222622
ISBN-13: 978-0983222620
About Rickey Teems II
 
You can say whatever you want about religion, but know that this page is a testimony to God. I never had a desire to publish books; I never even imagined being an author! All that I have been blessed to accomplish can be directly linked to the unforgettable Easter Sunday in 2001. God was finally able to show me that I didn’t know a fraction of what I thought I did. Imagine that, it took letting go of who I thought I was to discover who I was meant to be.

I put my passion, intensity, and appreciation for life onto every page I write. One part emotions, one part spirituality, one part insight, sprinkled with a lot of action and drama has been the award-winning recipe for my fiction novels. Don’t get mad at me when you find yourself lost in a different world! Non-fiction books are a little more unique. I work diligently to create reader friendly material that will inspire and take lives to new levels based on what I have learned through God, education (Bachelor’s degree in Psychology and a Master’s degree in Marriage and Family Therapy) and experience out in the world. I hope the value exceeds the cost.

It’s amazing to look at my past and see the man God created me to be. I am honored to say that I actively volunteer and work with adolescents and their parents in through programs such as the Sons of Abraham mentoring program and Families Learning to Interact Positively (FLIP) to help foster healthy and functional means of growth. As Director of Frontline, the men’s ministry at Resurrection Church LA, we diligently reach out to the community to help uplift and spread the word of God. In 2011, I will begin pursuing my doctorate in Psychology with the intention of conducting research and counseling to assist those seeking help with finding more productive ways of achieving success and happiness.

It seems like I will cross into the realm of conceit if I talk anymore about myself, so for any further inquires or curiosities, just shoot me an email. But I would like to say thank you to all the book clubs, literary factions, and avid readers who continue to show tons of love and support. You are sincerely appreciated for keeping the dream alive!

Be Encouraged. Be Blessed!

Please visit his website at http://www.noguilebooks.com/NG/

Preorder the book here: Amazon

Disclaimer: I was not compensated for my review. My thoughts on this book were in no way influenced by the author or publicist.They are my personal reflections based solely on MYexperience while reading this novel.
© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond’s Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl’s feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Glenn Gamble - Jim Money Blog Tour (Guest Post) - October 11, 2011

 
Today I am happy to be hosting Glenn Gamble for his Jim Money Blog Tour.
His newest book is BON APPéTIT. I will be reading it soon and will be interviewing Glenn Gamble himself on my blog on November 22!
Enjoy!

Jim Money’s Reading List

Glenn Gamble told me that I should start blogging in order to introduce myself to readers. I asked him what I should blog about. He answered once two honeydips brought him his robe, slippers and pimp goblet. They looked like they should be in the Playboy Ranch instead of Glenn’s house. He said “Mr. Money, you can blog about anything you’d like.” When I asked if he had any ideas, he paused as he chewed the cool whip dipped strawberry that was hand fed by one of his beauties. Then he said that I should tell the audience something about me that they didn’t know before. Before I could say thanks, some Julius Peppers looking guy with a football head and NFL body escorted me out the door. I would have kicked his ass, but the football body guy gave me another honeydip’s number. Apparently Glenn kicked her out of his house because she didn’t present his goblet with the proper hold. Glenn’s an asshole, but football is a great guy. Glenn, if you’re reading I now know where the book royalties are going to –royalties that you should be paying me.

Before I call the honeydip, I’d like to share my current reading list with you. I won’t spend much time typing a long blog list because the honeydip is a fox, and I must strike quick before all the hawks come down to scoop her out of my hands. Keep a few things in mind as you go down my list: 1) I am the best book character of all time; 2) I don’t like books that many guardians of great literature exalt to god-like stature because they start off slow, continue to be slow, and wait 30 chapters to get to the action—that crap bores me to tears; 3) I favor thrillers that are unapologetically violent and have graphic sex scenes that get my dick hard. Take those things into consideration as you go down my list:

1) Bon Appetit, Escape, On the Run and James- I like those books because I’m the main character in all of them, and I get to kick a lot of ass and have sex once in a while.

2) Origin by JA Konrath- It’s about Satan waking up in an underground government laboratory after being buried in a capsule hundreds of years ago. Tons of kick-ass action in this book.

3) The Good Guy by Dean Koontz- Robert Kessler who is often referred to as Krait is a kick-ass villain. The best villain I’ve read so far.

4) Run by Blake Crouch- This is an excellent all around book. Not only does it contain a lot of action, but he captures the emotional highs and lows of a family that tries to stick together as the world around them goes into extreme chaos. This book comes 2nd only to the books where I’m doing a bunch of ass-kicking.

5) Back on Murder by J. Mark Bertrand- I just started this book, but it’s a very interesting police procedural about a detective on the brink of being forced off the police force being assigned to a homicide case where he has to find a way to overcome the tension from working with a much younger, but less knowledgeable lead detective in order to earn his keep on the force.



Glenn Gamble says: I tell this man to write a blog today about something that no one knows about him and he accuses me of living a carefree life as a rich Charlie Sheen like caricature. I love his reading list, I take no responsibility for the things that Jim Money says. His account of me having two women at my beckoned call is inaccurate and so is the idea that he’s not being paid what he deserves. Look, he’s a book character and he’s got plenty of money in all four books. I might have to kill him in my next book. Goodness, what have I created here.

Glenn Gamble is the author of A Thousand Chances, Bon Appetit, Escape, On the Run, and James. All of his books are available on Amazon Kindle http://www.amazon.com/Glenn-Gamble/e/B002BMGSVK and Barnes and Noble Nook http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Glenn-Gamble?keyword=Glenn+Gamble&store=allproducts and Smashwords http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/glenngamble

He also encourages you to visit his website http://www.GlennGamble.com


 
BON APPéTIT (available on Kindle)
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004YWNW0K

© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond’s Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl’s feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.