Tuesday, March 29, 2011

WINNER OF THE BETRAYAL BY SHEILA HENDRIX



THE WINNER IS:
 
Terra H! 

I forwarded your e-mail on so your book can be sent to you.


Congratulations!

 

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Book Review - Shady by Dell Banks


About the Book:
A world that is ruled by greed, betrayal and secrets! Giselle Whitfield's life has always been full of surprises. It all started with Ms. Greta Mitchell; her jealous-hearted mother, who abandoned her at a young age only to barge back into her life to create hell on earth. To cope with the drama of her past, Giselle does what's expected of her; scheming, lying and keeping secrets.

Now, as a grown woman holding her own, will Giselle be able to extinguish the hellish flames of her conniving past and deceitful ways? Will the red carpet treatment from her Prince Charming, be the beacon of light to escape the darkness of her past?

Join Dell Banks in his highly anticipated debut novel Shady as he introduces some of the shadiest people to ever hit the streets of Detroit. Experience it all as it untangles toward a state of undoubted destiny... or fate.


My Review:
I was so excited to be able to review an advance copy of this book!  I just purchased a Kindle and I downloaded the pdf copy of this book from Dell Banks to my Kindle.  This was the first book that I read on my new Kindle, and I couldn't have picked a better book!  Plus, the story takes place in Detroit.  I am from Michigan, so it was cool to read a book set in my home state!  

This book starts off with a bang!  It has my full attention.  I am already feeling sorry for the "ghetto Cinderella, living on the Northwest side of Detroit" (p3).  Her mom sounds like a real bitch.  It's too bad she doesn't know who her real dad is.  I hope she finds him someday.  I have tears in my eyes reading her diary entry. 

I love that Dell Banks adds humor to his book as well.  The quote "I wrapped my legs around his waist tighter than a lug nut on a tire and flipped him on his back and began to ride his dick like it was our last time." p14 was funny!  Dell Banks really sounds like a fun guy to be around just from the humor added to his book.

The sex in this book, wow!  Come on, when you look at the sexy woman on the book cover, you know there has to be some sex!  You know he got my juices flowing when GiGi was with the detective!

Wow!  I am impressed with Dell Banks!  What an awesome book!  He did a great job creating characters that came to life!  This book was full of drama and kept me turning pages like crazy! I was very shocked by the ending and it has me wondering what is going to happen in the next book.  I can't wait for the next one!

Favorite New Words (Phrases) From This Book:
"monthy girlfriend" (that is a different way to look at a period!)  p.8
"one-eyed monster" p.14

Quote:
p30
Craig was lost for words. He hadn't been able to understand why Greta had so much hate in her heart for her daughter. But today, the light has shed upon the real reason; Greta was jealous of her daughter and hated the fact that Giselle was living the life she always wanted to live.

My Rating:
 5/5 diamonds
A book to purchase!

Book Details:
Title: Shady
Author: Dell Banks
Publisher:
Heir to the Throne Publications
Pages: e-book; 205 pages

Source:Provided to me by Dell Banks

See more about the author here and purchase the book: http://www.dellbanks.com/
You can also purchase the book here Amazon




 
Disclaimer: Dell Banks provided me an e-book of Shady for review.  I was not compensated for my review. My thoughts on this book were in no way influenced by the author or publicist. They are my personal reflections based solely on MY experience while reading this novel.

 © 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond's Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

Saturday, March 26, 2011

Book Review - Snapped by Tracy Brown


About the Book:

As the pampered wife of Frankie Bingham, Camille wants for nothing. After all Frankie and their life together are her whole world. So Camille tries not to be bothered by his closeness with his coworker and dear friend Gillian. But it soon becomes clear that Camille’s suspicions are correct. When his indiscretions become a public matter for the world Camille is pushed to a dangerous breaking point that spells disaster for them all.

Camille's sister Misa is newly divorced and clueless about men. She smothers men with phone calls, emails and pops up unannounced at their homes. She hacks into their voicemail and email and causes drama. So when she sets her sights on Baron, he has no idea what hit him. Will her quest to win his heart cost her everything?

Dominique Storms appears to have it all - a great career, a beautiful NYC condo and a gifted teenaged daughter. Her only problem is that the man she loves is incarcerated. While trying to juggle the demands of motherhood, work, and friendships, she manages to make her man Jamel a priority in her life. But is he doing the same? And is she too distracted to notice what is going on with her daughter?

Latoya Blake seems to be the one who has life all figured out, that is, until some skeletons are discovered in her closet. When her well-put-together fa├žade crumbles, will she crumble as well?

from Goodreads

My Review:
This is my first book by Tracy Brown.  I joined the "We Love to Read Book Club" on Facebook.  They are reading Aftermath by Tracy Brown this month.  I wanted to buy it, but then realized Snapped was the first book, so I bought both of them.

I am so glad that I was led to this book!  Tracy Brown really did a great job building the characters and really giving them personality.  There were quite a few characters and I was worried that I would get confused, but I didn't.  You really have to pay attention when you are reading this book to keep everything straight, but that was one thing that I really liked about this book.  It made me really think!

Camille really should have done more with Frankie, but he should have tried harder to involve her in his life too. Misa really seemed to take advantage of Camille by having her watch her son Shane all the time.  It was nice of Camille to do that, but she really should have put her foot down and told her no once in a while.  It really would have been good for Misa and may have prevented a lot of problems.  Misa was really worrying too much about her love life when she should have been taking care of her son! Camille and Misa's mom finally let them have it and told them both what they should be doing.  It's about time!  What happened with Shane though at the end really surprised me.

I want to find out in the next book what happens with Dominique and Jamel.  She was so good to him, and I really hope that things work out for them.  People were putting her down for what she was doing for him because he is incarcerated, but have hope that he will come out and they will be together.  What happened with her daughter Octavia really surprised me toward the end. 

 This book definitely was full of drama and was a page turner!  The end definitely had me wondering what is going to happen in the next book, since I was left hanging at the end!  I was sad that  this book was done, but I am so glad that the story will continue in Aftermath!  I highly recommend this book!

My Rating:
 5/5 diamonds
A book to purchase!

Book Details:
Title: Snapped
Author: Tracy Brown
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: Paperback; 368 pages
Source: Purchased

See more about the author here: http://us.macmillan.com/author/tracybrown
Purchase the book here




Disclaimer: I was not compensated for my review. My thoughts on this book were in no way influenced by the author or publicist. They are my personal reflections based solely on MY experience while reading this novel.

 © 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond's Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.


Thursday, March 24, 2011

Interview with Megan Van Eyck and Review of Her Book Memoirs of a Widowed Mistress


Megan Van Eyck Interview

Q: Thank you for this interview, Megan. Can you tell everyone what your book, ‘Memoirs of a Widowed Mistress’, is all about?

A: Thanks for having me. Memoirs of a Widowed Mistress is my true life account of a five year long extra-marital love affair that ended when my lover died from Amyloidosis, a rare blood disorder.

Just as much as this is a doomed from the start love story of two star-crossed lovers, it is a story of reconciliation between a husband and wife who survive the worst kind of betrayal and find love again. Memoirs of a Widowed Mistress is more than a story about adultery, it is a story about of love, passion, loss, self-discovery, and ultimately, redemption.

Q:  If you have to describe yourself with one word, what would it be?

A: Resilient


Q:  How long did it take you to write your book?

A: Two years! Can you believe it? I thought I’d get it done in a year, but I set standards for myself that went beyond my abilities. Consequently, I had a big learning curve. Taking the time to develop my skills as a story-teller was time well spent and Memoirs of a Widowed Mistress is better off for it.

Q:  What is the main source of inspiration for your writing?

A: Love.
Love for Carlos and, ultimately, love for my husband.
Initially, the book was supposed to only be about my affair. But one day my husband found a chapter from my book and my infidelity an irrefutable fact. That discovery changed the course of my book and my life. Instead of being a memoir of adultery, it is also a story of a couple beating the odds and finding love again.


Q:  Is there a place you go for inspiration to write?

A: I am most productive, and comfortable, while writing at my desk with my favorite playlist and a cup of fresh coffee.

Q:  Are you reading anything right now?

A: I am reading a book called, Not Without Hope, by Michelle Sutton. It is a fictional story about a woman who has a six week long affair and what happens to her family once her secret is out. The big difference between this story and mine are that this it is a Christian title. But it is interesting to see how different people deal with infidelity. Best of all, it is also another story of a couple who not only survive infidelity, but grow stronger because of it.


Q:  What is one food item that you can’t live without?

A: I have been trying to kick a vicious Diet Coke habit for the past three years. I love the snap of a dewy cold can first thing in the morning. I get thirsty just thinking about it!


Q:  What do you like to do when you are not writing (hobbies, etc.)?

A: I love to travel, take pictures, bake, read, hang-out with my family.


Q:  What advice would you give to those aspiring writers out there?

A: I think the most challenging thing is to define your audience-know who will want to buy your book. You can write a fantastic book-but not everyone will love it. The trick is to find those who can relate to any aspect of your story and do anything to garner their interest.


Q:  What is next for you in 2011?

A:  I hope to be very busy promoting Memoirs of a Widowed Mistress, spending time with my family and enjoying the happiness and peace I have worked so hard to find.


Q:  How can your readers contact you?

A: If you visit www.widowedmistress.com you will find a sample chapter from my book and links to my e-mail, Twitter and FaceBook accounts. Hope to see you there!

 
Thank you very much for taking the time out to answer my interview questions!

Cheryl, it has been a pleasure and thank you so much for your support.

Pump Up Your Book Virtual Book Tour



My Review:
Megan wasn't out looking to have an affair. She just happened to meet Carlos on a airplane and they hit it off.  Nothing happened at first, but then they got in contact with one another later.  

Yes, Megan was married to Willem, but their marriage wasn't exactly perfect.  She wouldn't have sought what she did from Carlos if it had been.  Willem didn't really seem like he wanted much to do with Megan.  She needed someone to love her, and he just wasn't giving it to her.  I am not saying that I think it is right to have an affair, because I am not.  If you read this book though, you will see what Carlos and Megan had.  He treated her like she should be treated, and it's really no wonder why she kept going back to him to get that.  Actually, Megan's husband told her that whatever she is doing is great and to keep it up.  She was happier than ever!

When you read this memoir you will find out what Megan's life was as a child.  She didn't have an easy life, and I think her need for love really started back then.  She tried to make things better at home when she was a child, but it didn't turn out the way that she had hoped it would.

When Carlos got sick, Megan really wanted to take care of him and get him the best care possible.  Being as she was just his mistress, things could not go by what she wanted.  It was all ultimately up to Carlos' wife Emma.  That's part of being a mistress.  Megan could be there for him when times were good, but when they got bad, she just kind of had to sit back and hope that his wife would take care of him and make all of the right decisions.

I really loved this book.  It was so full of emotion and love.  I really got mad at Carlos sometimes though.  I thought he should just leave his wife and be with Megan.  I think Megan and Carlos were really true loves.  I don't think Megan should have any regrets about her life.  She found out what it was like to truly be loved by a man, and I think it must have really helped her marriage to Willem in the end.

Favorite Quotes:

P.14
As I sat emotionally torn between wanting a harmless flirtation to redeem my waning vibrancy and a growing friendship to nourish something unshakably lonely and desperate at my core, it hit me that I was sitting alone, waiting to having a secret lunch with a married man at a restaurant that was about an hour's drive from either of our homes.  In that instant, it occurred to me that he might have misunderstood my intentions.


P.70
There was no passion, no need, no longing, only habit.  I felt trapped with a man who wanted me to stay with him out of principle instead of out of love.  A loveless life was not something I planned to endure alone.  I hoped my affair could either make my life bearable or perhaps change it altogether. 

My Rating:


 5/5 Diamonds



 A book to go out and purchase!


Book Details:
Title: Memoirs of a Widowed Mistress
Author: Megan Van Eyck
Publisher: CreateSpace
About the Book:  Paperback, 308 pages
Source: Pump Up Your Book Virtual Tour


Disclaimer: I received this book from the Pump Up Your Book Virtual Tour. I was not compensated for my review. My thoughts on this book were in no way influenced by the author or publicist. They are my personal reflections based solely on MY experience while reading this novel.

 

© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond's Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Book Review - Lipstick Hustla by Allison Hobbs


About The Book:

From the bestselling author of Double Dippin’ and Big Juicy Lips — a feisty, self-starter takes her business to the top and fights for her man.

Blindsided by lust, Misty lost her business, her money, and all her possessions — and her man, Brick. More determined than ever to get her money right, she starts from scratch. Using the services of one reliable employee, she slowly rebuilds her escort service. Cash is starting to trickle in, but it’s not coming fast enough for Misty.

With a new crew working around the clock, Misty reclaims top diva status. Her world should be complete, but something is missing... she’s lonely for the love and undivided attention of Brick. She foolishly took him for granted, allowing him to slip from her grasp and into the clutches of another woman — her mother.

As far as Misty’s concerned, all is fair in love and war. There’s no limit to how far she will go to take back the man who’s rightfully hers


from Goodreads


My First Reaction When I Finished:
I never imagined it would end how it did.  What an awesome book!



My Review:
I bought this book not realizing that I should have read DOUBLE DIPPIN' and BIG JUICY LIPS first. I didn't have any problem getting into this book though.  It was easy to just pick it up and get hooked!  I do plan on reading those other two books though to see how it all started!

Misty sure is something else.  She always gets what she wants and doesn't care what she has to do to get it.  She doesn't even realize how crazy she really is.  She really gets her business going and will do anything to make more cash. She will use any man she can find for her "escort service" and will use him in any manner that she says. Brick sure had a tough decision to make at the end!

I loved this book and it kept me hooked and not wanting to stop reading until the end!  I am a huge fan of Allison Hobbs and plan on reading every book that she has written eventually!  If you have not read a book by Allison Hobbs, you are really missing out!  It's not all about the sex either.  Yeah, there is a lot of sex in this book that is like, WHOA!, let me read that part again, but it has a great story to go along with it.

Quote From The Book:
"I want to sample the goods anyway." she said in a matter-of fact tone.
"Sample the goods?"  He stared at Misty like he didn't understand.
"Do you think I would send you out to one of my loyal customers without knowing how you holding?  Besides, you should feel honored that I'm going to let you smash."
"I am.  I'm more than honored.  I'm in shock that a hot-looking chick like you wants to go to bed with me."
"Don't get it twisted.  It's not that I want to.  It makes good business sense for me to find out your strengths and weaknesses in the sex department.  I need to find out how long you can last."
P.37


Do I recommend?
Yes, go out and buy this one!
My rating:

5/5 diamonds

Highly Recommend Purchasing This Book!

 Book Details:
Title: Lipstick Hustla
Author: Allison Hobbs
Publisher: Strebor Books
Pages: Paperback; 352 pages
Source: Purchased


Visit the author here: allisonhobbs.com
Purchase the book here:



Disclaimer: I was not compensated for my review. My thoughts on this book were in no way influenced by the author or publicist. They are my personal reflections based solely on MY experience while reading this novel.

 © 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond's Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.









Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Book Review - Growing Pains by Dwayne S. Joseph


About the Book:

Brian Moore is a straight-A student struggling to escape the lure of the streets in Brooklyn, NY. With no father at home and a mother who works two jobs in order to keep a roof over his head and food on the table, Brian is left alone to navigate his way toward manhood. With the help of his two lifelong friends, one thing is certain; trouble is the only thing he's going to find.

Jawan White is Brian's teacher, and he knows that Brian has the potential to graduate high school and leave the streets far behind him. But will Jawan's constant lecturing push Brian further out into the streets, or will they help reel him in? And what's going to happen when Jawan falls in head over heels in love with Brian's mother? Will Brian continue to respect the only man in his life who cares for his well-being, or will he go along with his best friend's plan to make some fast money?

Growing Pains is a coming of age street novel, filled with romance, suspense, and drama

From Goodreads


My First Reaction When I Finished:
Wow!  What a page turner!  I was so surprised at all of the action at the end! 

My Review:

Brian was really a smart kid, but he hung with the wrong crowd.  They are out to do things to make money, and Brian is really having a bad feeling about what they are planning to do.  It really goes against who he is, but then his girlfriend Carla tells him something unexpected.  Suddenly, he just doesn't know which way to go with it.  Even though he knows what they are doing is wrong and will really hurt someone he has known a long time, the money is just looking so good.  Does he do what is right, or does money rule his decision?

Jawan was such a dedicated teacher and he really wanted to help Brian out.  He reminded him of his nephew that he lost.   He really wants to make a difference in kids lives, and Brian just really seems like he could use his guidance since he does not have any kind of male role model.

Brian's mother tries to do everything she can to bring Brian up the right way, even if it means keeping her past relationship troubles to herself.  She also works as hard as she can to support them, but she has a secret of her own.

I've read most of Dwayne Joseph's books, and each one keeps getting better!  I see more growth in his writing every time a new book comes out!  His novels are becoming less about relationship drama and more about real life issues that really hit home for some people.     This book was a very quick read for me and kept me turning the pages faster as I got closer to the end.  I was very impressed with this book!

Favorite Quotes From The Book:
Jawan had always seen something different in Brian's eyes.  A seriousness and maturity level that many of the other kids didn't seem to possess.  In a lot of ways, Brian reminded Jawan of the nephew he'd lost.  Without being too overbearing, he'd made it his personal mission to guide, or at least try to guide, Brian.
p.13

Jawan walked away, and as he did, he couldn't help but smile.  There was definitely a very strong and very mutual attraction going on. 
p.51

"You act like I am desperate."
"Not desperate, girl.  You're just in need of some tune-ups.  Why do you think I look so good?  Because I hit the gym every damn day?  Hell to the no! I look this good because I get my oil and battery checked every couple of days, that's why."
p.69

Do I recommend?
Yes, go out and buy this one!
My rating:

5/5 diamonds

Highly Recommend Purchasing This Book!

 Book Details:
Title: Growing Pains
Author: Dwayne S. Joseph
Publisher:   Urban Books
Pages: Paperback; 228 pages
Source: Purchased


Visit the author here:  Facebook

Purchase the book here:



Disclaimer: I was not compensated for my review. My thoughts on this book were in no way influenced by the author or publicist. They are my personal reflections based solely on MY experience while reading this novel.

 

© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond's Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

Teaser Tuesdays

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. 
Anyone can play along! 

Just do the following:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

 Growing Pains by Dwayne S. Joseph

His mom was off-limits to everyone.  
There was nothing personal against Mr. White.  It was just a rule that he'd set in stone when he was six years old.
 P. 55


 Lipstick Hustla by Allison Hobbs

"I am. I am more than honored.  I'm in shock that a hot-looking chick like you wants to go to bed with me."

"Don't get it twisted.  It's not that I want to.  It makes good business sense for me to find out your strengths and weaknesses in the sex department.  I need to find out how long you can last."
P. 37

 © 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond's Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

Monday, March 21, 2011

Mailbox Monday and It's Monday What Are You Reading

~Mailbox Monday~  
is hosted by Laura of I'm Booking It during the month of March
We share what books that we found in our mailboxes last week.

------------------------
I won this signed book from the author from a giveaway!  I was so lucky!
 Draw 2 by J-Real

---------------------------------
Received signed copy from the Author for review, Yeah!

-----------------------

I heard about this book from a Goodreads friend.  I had the library book for a while and never read it, so I decided to just buy it so I can read it when I have time.  I didn't want to forget about it which is why I bought it.
 Chanda's Secrets by Allan Stratton

------------------------

Purchased.  This is the first book in the series.  The second book is what we are reading in my Facebook book club for March.  We will see if I can actually read both by the end of the month!
 Snapped by Tracy Brown

 Purchased (This is the March book for the "We Love To Read Bookclub" that I belong to in Facebook)
--------------



Hosted by Sheila @ One Person's Journey Through a World of Books
We discuss the books that we've read and what we're planning to read for the week.

Read and Reviewed Last Week:
The Retreat  by Dijorn Moss, loved this Urban Christian Book!  5/5 diamonds, review posted 3/18

Book Tours This Week:
3/24 Memoirs of a Widowed Mistress by Megan Van Eyck, Pump Up Your Book Tour

Tentative Reviews for This Week:
Growing Pains by Dwayne S. Joseph
Lipstick Hustla by Allison Hobbs
The Pussy Whispers by Dean Jean-Pierre

On My Nightstand:
Reading for Facebook Book Club:

 Reading for Pump Up Your Book Tour (review 4/4/11)

© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond's Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

Friday, March 18, 2011

Book Review - The Retreat by Dijorn Moss


About the Book:

For those who have ever wondered what goes on at a men's retreat, The Retreat is an in-depth look into the lives of four men who have looked for answers in all the wrong places . . . until now. 


Quincy is in the final stages of his divorce, but he still wants to know which church member had an affair with his wife. Jamal is on the verge of the promotion of a lifetime, but unresolved issues with his son, Jamir, threaten everything. Chauncey is a man who will go to great lengths for his church, but not for his terminally ill brother. Will is a young hustler who has been given a rare opportunity to make a choice that will change his life forever.


These four men are all at a crossroads in their lives. Will they lay their burdens down at the cross, or will they choose paths that will cause more harm than good? It will all be revealed at the men's retreat, where they learn that they need God and his wisdom more than ever.
From: Goodreads
  
My First Reaction When I Finished: 

This book had so many important messages!

My Review:

Quincy really thinks that he gives his wife everything, so why would she even cheat on him.  Why of all people would she have an affair with someone from the church.  He is going into this retreat hoping that he will find who it was. Will he find out or will he come away with his questions unanswered?  What will happen to their marriage?


Jamal doesn't know what to do when he finds out something about his son.  He isn't sure which way to go with his life.  He is hoping the retreat will hold answers for him.  What does he find out and will he find the guidance he needs to make the right decision?

Chauncey really needed to go to the retreat, but something unexpected happens on the way that may change his life and someone else's life too.  What happens?

Will seems like he might never get out of the life that he has.  Something he did and then changed his mind about really surprised me and gave me faith that maybe he would change.  That was one of my favorite parts of the book!  Was that just a one-time thing, or will his life be turned around? 


This book is one that I am so glad that I read.  It was nice to read about the man's point of view and what is going through their head in certain situations!  This is the first Urban Christian  Fiction book that I've read., and I plan on reading more in the future.  Dijorn Moss is a highly talented author and one I will be looking forward to reading again!  I really feel like I learned so much from this book!



Favorite Quotes from the book:
p. 35
Sometimes God's opportunities for redemption come in the most unique packages

P.53
"We all mess up sometimes.  Lord knows I do, but the scripture says that the Lord makes us new mercies every day.  So you do not have to carry your past into your future.  You can decide to land anew and God is waiting for you.  No matter what you've done."

p54
"Don't wait, tomorrow is not promised.  Make a choice to accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior, and He will remove your sins.  You might not feel like you deserve it, but the scripture says that His ways are not your ways."


p164
"I know that there are some fine sistas at your church and job, but guess what?  God isn't going to stop making them, so we have to learn to master our filthy desires, Minister Perkins said.
Do I recommend?
Yes, definitely!

My rating:

5/5 diamonds

Highly Recommend Purchasing This Book!

 Book Details:
Title: The Retreat
Author: Dijorn Moss
Publisher:   Kensington Publishing Corporation
Pages: Paperback; 288 pages
Source: Purchased


Visit the author on his website: dijornmoss.webs.com

Purchase the book here:  Amazon


Disclaimer: I was not compensated for my review. My thoughts on this book were in no way influenced by the author or publicist. They are my personal reflections based solely on MY experience while reading this novel.

 

© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond's Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

February Books

My February Books:

1.     Head Bangers, An APF Sexcapade by Zane
        2/1/11          104 pages          5/5 diamonds

2.     Broken Promises Never Mend *Special Edition*  by Allison Essence M. Edwards
        2/2/11          208 pages          4/5 diamonds

3.     Deadbeat by Brian W. Smith
        2/3/11          232 pages          5/5 diamonds

4.     Drama With a Capital D by Denise Coleman
        2/5/11          248 pages          5/5 diamonds

5.     Anyone Can Die by James LePore
        2/9/11          48 pages           3/5 diamonds

6.     Chedda Boyz by C.J. Hudson
        2/13/11        256 pages         4/5 diamonds

7.     The Betrayal by Sheila Hendrix
        2/17/11        220 pages         3/5 diamonds

8.     There's No Tomorrow by Jaree Francis
        2/17/11        e-book             5/5 diamonds

9.     Final Mercy by Frank J. Edwards
        2/23/11        300 pages        4/5 diamonds

10.   Respect the Jux by Frank C. Matthews
        2/24/11        288 pages        5/5 diamonds

11.   Flavors by Emily Sue Harvey
        2/28/11        120 pages        5/5 diamonds

12.   Advance Reader Book
        2/11             386 pages        Review will come when book releases


Total 12 books
2,410 pages


Year to Date:  19 books
4,508 pages
      

Teaser Tuesday

 
Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. 
Anyone can play along! 

Just do the following:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

 The Retreat by Dijorn Moss
"We all mess up sometimes. Lord knows I do, but the scripture says that the Lord makes us new mercies every day. So you do not have to carry your past into your future.  You can decide to land anew and God is waiting for you.  No matter what you've done."

P.53

 

© 2011, Cheryl of Black Diamond's Book Reviews. All Rights Reserved. If you reading this on a site other than, Black Diamond's Book Reviews, Urban Image Magazine, or Cheryl's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.