Saturday, July 31, 2010

Library Loot - July 30

Here are the books that I picked up from the library today. The Shack and Look Again were books that I had on hold. The other ones I just found while browsing.

The Shack

by William P. Young
From Goodreads:
Mackenzie Allen Phillips's youngest daughter, Missy, has been abducted during a family vacation and evidence that she may have been brutally murdered is found in an abandoned shack deep in the Oregon wilderness. Four years later, in this midst of his Great Sadness, Mack receives a suspicious note, apparently from God, inviting him back to that shack for a weekend.

Against his better judgment he arrives at the shack on wintry afternoon and walks back into his darkest nightmare. What he finds there will change his life forever.

In a world where religion seems to grow increasingly irrevelant THE SHACK wrestles with the timeless quiestion, "Where is God in a world so filled with unspeakable pain?" The answers Mack gets will astound you and perhaps transform you as much as it did him. You'll want everyone you know to read this book!

Look Again

by Lisa Scottoline
From Goodreads:
When reporter Ellen Gleeson gets a “Have You Seen This Child?” flyer in the mail, she almost throws it away. But something about it makes her look again, and her heart stops—the child in the photo is identical to her adopted son, Will. Her every instinct tells her to deny the similarity between the boys, because she knows her adoption was lawful. But she’s a journalist and won’t be able to stop thinking about the photo until she figures out the truth. And she can’t shake the question: if Will rightfully belongs to someone else, should she keep him or give him up? She investigates, uncovering clues no one was meant to discover, and when she digs too deep, she risks losing her own life—and that of the son she loves.

No Legal Grounds

by James Scott Bell
From Goodreads:
How far will a man go to protect his family? Attorney Sam Trask will go farther than he ever dreamed, even in his worst nightmare. Because his worst nightmare is about to come true...

At age forty-seven, attorney Sam Trask finally seems to have his life in order. The dark years of too much drinking and all-consuming ambition have given way to Christian faith. His marriage is strong again. Everything seems finally on the right track.

Then a voice from the past comes back to say hello.

Suddenly Sam faces a danger more real than he ever imagined--danger from someone who will not rest until Sam's life comes crashing down around him. Desperate, Sam seeks protection from the law he's served all his life. But when the threats are turned on his family, and the law seems powerless to protect them, Sam must consider a choice that strikes at the heart of his life and faith--whether to take the law into his own hands.


by Meg Cabot
From Goodreads:
Sick of vampires? So is Meena Harper.

But her boss is making her write about them anyway, even though Meena doesn’t believe in them.

Not that Meena isn’t familiar with the supernatural. See, Meena Harper knows how you’re going to die (not that you’re going to believe her; no one ever does).

But not even Meena’s precognition can prepare her for what happens when she meets—then makes the mistake of falling in love with—Lucien Antonescu, a modern-day prince with a bit of a dark side . . . a dark side a lot of people, like an ancient society of vampire-hunters, would prefer to see him dead for.

The problem is, he already is dead. Maybe that’s why he’s the first guy Meena’s ever met that she could see herself having a future with. See, while Meena’s always been able to see everyone else’s future, she’s never been able look into her own.

And while Lucien seems like everything Meena has ever dreamed of in a boyfriend, he might turn out to be more like a nightmare.

Now might be a good time for Meena to start learning to predict her own future . . .

If she even has one.


by Sandra Brown
From Goodreads:
A romantic historical novel from bestselling thriller-master Sandra Brown, about an independent woman who runs a boarding house in Dust Bowl Texas.


by Allison van Diepen
From Goodreads:
Zin dances with fire in every step, speaks with a honey-sweet voice, and sees with eyes that can peer into your soul. It's no wonder Nicole is madly in love with him. Their friendship is the only thing that saves her from the boredom of school and the turmoil of her family life. But she cannot understand why he keeps her at a distance, even though she can feel his soul reaching out for hers. Zin carries a very old secret. When Nicole uncovers the truth, her love may be the only thing that can save him from it.

Thursday, July 29, 2010

Review of Going Bovine by Libba Bray

Going Bovine

by Libba Bray

description from Goodreads:

Cameron Smith, 16, is slumming through high school, overshadowed by a sister “pre-majoring in perfection,” while working (ineptly) at the Buddha Burger. Then something happens to make him the focus of his family's attention: he contracts mad cow disease. What takes place after he is hospitalized is either that a gorgeous angel persuades him to search for a cure that will also save the world, or that he has a vivid hallucination brought on by the disease. Either way, what readers have is an absurdist comedy in which Cameron, Gonzo (a neurotic dwarf) and Balder (a Norse god cursed to appear as a yard gnome) go on a quixotic road trip during which they learn about string theory, wormholes and true love en route to Disney World. Bray's surreal humor may surprise fans of her historical fantasies about Gemma Doyle, as she trains her satirical eye on modern education, American materialism and religious cults (the smoothie-drinking members of the Church of Everlasting Satisfaction and Snack 'N' Bowl). Offer this to fans of Douglas Adams's Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy seeking more inspired lunacy.

My thoughts:
Okay, I only gave this book 1 star. I only read the first couple chapters and it really didn't do anything for me, so I gave up on it.

Review of Chasing Perfect (Fool's Gold, #1) by Susan Mallery

Chasing Perfect (Fool's Gold, #1)

by Susan Mallery

published: April 27th 2010 by HQN (first published April 21st 2010)

Paperback, 376 pages

From Goodreads:
Perfection is in the eye of the beholder

Welcome to Fool's Gold, California, a charming community in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada. There's lots to do and plenty of people to meet, especially women. Because there's just one tiny problem in Fool's Gold: the men don't seem to stick around. Maybe it's the lure of big-city life, or maybe it's plain old bad luck, but regardless of the reason, the problem has to be fixed, fast. And Charity Jones may just be the city planner to do it.

Charity's nomadic childhood has left her itching to settle down, and she immediately falls in love with all the storybook town has to offer - everything, that is, except cyclist Josh Golden. With her long list of romantic disasters, she's not about to take a chance on another bad boy, even if everyone else thinks he's perfect just the way he is. But maybe that's just what he needs - someone who knows the value of his flaws. Someone who knows that he's just chasing perfect.

My Thoughts:

Charity Jones moved to Fool's Gold, California. She got a job there working as a city planner. The main reason they hired her was to bring more men to the town. The town was mostly women, and they had a man shortage. The women had trouble finding husbands, and the men that do live there find their wives from other places for some reason.

She had her first presentation at her new job, and her computer went up in smoke along with the presentation that she had been working on. She went in and made the presentation without the laptop. There was one problem with the deal they were working on. A hot blonde guy came in and saved the day. This guy's name is Josh Golden and he is a famous cyclist. She was so attracted to him but afraid of his "type". She decided she would steer clear of him.

Marsha is her boss. She tries to play matchmaker and wants Charity together with Josh. Later in the book Marsha reveals something about herself to Charity that is quite a surprise.

She met Robert who also works for the city. He seemed like the perfect guy, but she just didn't have strong feelings for him. She thought maybe he would grow on her, but she was just so attracted to Josh.

This was a very good romance that kept me hooked. I definitely want to keep reading this series!

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars!

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Review of Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1)

by J.R. Ward

published September 6th 2005 by Signet Eclipse

Paperback, 393 pages

This is the story of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. A group of vampires who are great warriors. They mostly keep to themselves and protect themselves against the Lessening Society (this society tries to get rid of vampires).

Darius was one of them. He had a half breed daughter who knew nothing about him. He watched her from birth up until the present time. He asked Wrath to take care of her if something happened to him. "Wrath was six feet, nine inches of pure terror dressed in leather. His hair was long and black, falling straight from a widow's peak. Wraparound sunglasses hid eyes that no one had ever seen revealed. Shoulders were twice the size of most males. With a face that was both aristocratic and brutal, he looked like the king he was by birthright and the soldier he'd become by destiny." (p. 3) "He was the last of his line, the only purebred vampire left on the planet, and though his race revered him as its king, he despised his status." (p.3)

Well, something did happen to Darius. Someone planted a bomb in his car and it went off went he got into it. "As his body was incinerated by a blast of white heat, his last thought was of the daughter who had yet to meet him. And now never would." (p.16).

Wrath had a shellan (female vampire who has been mated to a male p. xi) named Marissa. He fed from her but had no attraction to her.

Mr. X had been tracking Darius for a year and broke into the dealership while he had his car there an put the bomb in it. Mr. X was a lesser.

Wrath showed up at Beth Randall's (Darius' daughter) house and told her he was sent to protect her. She thought he was coming to kill her. "And then the extraordinary happened. As he stopped in front of her, she felt a blast of pure, unadulterated lust. For the first time in her life her body got wickedly hot. Hot and wet. Her core bloomed for him." (p.63). He wanted to see if she was going through the change yet, as she was half vampire and could tell it was coming soon. Even though she didn't know him, she asked him to kiss her. He was surprised. "This half-human was the hottest thing he'd ever gotten anywhere near. And he'd cozied up to a lightning strike once or twice before." (p. 64).

There is much more to the story, but you have to read it to see what happens.

I loved this book. There was a lot of action and hot vampire sex. Wrath was supposed to be this warrior, but he really was a gentleman. He really sounded like a hot god! I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars!

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Teaser Tuesdays - July 27

TEASER TUESDAYS hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. asks you to:
  1. Grab your current read.
  2. Open to a random page.
  3. Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page.
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  5. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

    Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1)

    by J.R. Ward

As he stopped in front of her, she felt a blast of pure, unadulterated lust. For the first time in her life her body got wickedly hot. Hot and wet.
p. 62

Giveaway Winners!

Mrs. Malory Investigates (Mrs. Malory Mystery #1)

by Hazel Holt
True Random Number Generator 1-5 5 Powered by RANDOM.ORG

#5 winner is: Julie!

Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, #5)

by Richelle Mead

True Random Number Generator 1-5
4 Powered by RANDOM.ORG

#4 Winner is Julie!

Just North of Luck

by Susan Whitfield

True Random Number Generator 1-2
2 Powered by RANDOM.ORG

#2 winner is Stephanie!

Congratulations to the winners! I will be sending you e-mails so I can get your books to you!

Monday, July 26, 2010

Mailbox Monday - July 26

Mailbox Monday is hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.
We share what books that we found in our mailboxes last week.

Here is what I got:

Keeper of Light and Dust

by Natasha Mostert
I won this from Angela at Reading Angel during the read-a-thon! You can visit her site at:

I also got:

Nightshade (Nightshade, #1)

by Andrea Cremer

I got this advance uncorrected galley from Shelf Awareness!

Thursday, July 22, 2010

Review of Shadow Bound by Erin Kellison

Shadow Bound

by Erin Kellison

Some people will do anything to avoid it. Even trade their immortal souls for endless existence.
Secretly, inexorably, they are infiltrating our world, sucking the essence out of unsuspecting victims with their hideous parody of a kiss.
Adam Thorne founded the Institute to study and destroy his monster of a brother, but the key to its success is held in the pale, slender hand of a woman on the run. There is something hauntingly different about Talia O’Brien, her unknowing sensuality, her uncanny way of slipping into Shadow.
This is the place between life and what comes after - a dark forest of fantasy, filled with beauty, peril, mystery. And Talia is about to open the door.

My thoughts:
I received this ARC from Dorchester Publishing through Shelf Awareness. I absolutely LOVED this book!

Adam has been searching to find out more about Shadowman and then he found out about Talia and found her dissertation and found that Shadowman is mentioned. He had to track her down. His brother Jacob was turned into some kind of demon, and he had to find a way to get rid of him. He thought maybe Talia would have the answers.

Adam found her and brought her to his research facility "The Segue Institute". She had heat stroke and he wanted to run tests on her. She wanted nothing to do with being tested. She didn't want them to find out what she really was.

This book was fast paced and I was hooked until the very end. I can't believe how stubborn both Adam and Talia were. They sure are one of a kind. I loved the ending.

I gave this 5 out of 5 stars!

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Library Loot

Here is what I got at the library recently:

Monday, July 19, 2010

Review of The Sex Bible for Women by Susan Crain Bakos

Sex Bible for Women

by Susan Bakos

published January 1st 2010 by Quiver
Paperback, 256 pages

Goodreads description

Most books on sexuality teach women that satisfying their partner is the key to a great sexual experience. However, for most women, great sex is predicated on understanding their own bodies and desires first. Moreover, a woman’s sexual desires and preferences aren’t fixed—they are greatly impacted by physical changes such as pregnancy, menopause, and hormonal fluctuations. This sensual yet practical guide provides a comprehensive overview of all the sexual options available for women throughout their lifetime. Intrepid sex journalist and expert Susan Crain Bakos shows women how to sexually satisfy themselves and their partners, through masturbation, touching, oral sex, and intercourse. Racy, full-color photographs instruct women on positions, foreplay techniques, and how to use sex toys on themselves or others. Women gain a deeper understanding of their own unique physiology, how to achieve orgasm, and how to stay healthy as they explore different sexual options.

My thoughts:
One of the biggest sex problems is loss of desire, but really the problem is not understanding our sexual response system. This book will give you ideas to spark that again.

There are actually chemical highs that you get when starting a new relationship and these can last from eighteen months to three years. Everyone has a desire set point and sometimes you have to find ways to boost your set point.

The more men have sex, the more they want it, but the less women have sex the less they want it. (p41)

This book has information on having an orgasm without hands (called the O loop). It talks about mens touch zones and womens. It does have pictures, but they are not explicit and not closeup. I think this book could have used more detailed pictures. It does go into detail about foreplay, oral sex, intercourse, anal intercourse, sex toys and ways to improve your sex life.

There is also a list of the top porn films that women buy.

I can't believe that nobody else on Goodreads has read this book. Probably nobody wants to admit it. This book was pretty good and I give it 4 stars.

Sunday, July 18, 2010

Review of A Dollar and A Dream by Carl Weber, La Jill Hunt, Angel Hunter and Dwayne S. Joseph

A Dollar And A Dream

by Carl Weber, La Jill Hunt, Angel M. Hunter, Dwayne S. Joseph
300 pages

Goodreads description:

Which of us hasn't daydreamed about what we d do if we won the lottery? A Dollar And A Dream brings those fantasies to hilarious, heartbreaking life in three stories by #1 national bestselling author Carl Weber and La Jill Hunt, Essence bestselling author Angel Hunter, and bestselling author Dwayne S. Joseph.

In "Easy Street," Carl Weber and La Jill Hunt deliver a drama-filled world of money, greed, and lies. When Paul, a wannabe player, is sent out by his neighbors to buy lottery tickets, his world is turned upside-down - and so are the lives of unsuspecting friends who may not only lose the winning tickets, but also their homes...

"Ghetto Fabulous" is the story of a single mother with three kids from three different daddies. Money is what she needs, yet when she wins big, she s left wondering what to do. Friends and family she never knew she had are suddenly coming out of the woodwork. But where were they when she needed help?

With one person designated to purchase tickets for the $180 million jackpot, six co-workers lives will be changed forever as each of them learns just how strong the pull of money can be. One Night, Six Dreams is a wild, shocking tale of just how far a person might go to have it all...

My thoughts:
All of the stories in this book were great. I had a bunch of spots marked to put in my review, but you really should read it all for yourself. It is amazing what people will do for money.

Here is a quote from each story:

Easy Street by Carl Weber and La Jill Hunt:
P.21 "I need to borrow two dollars until tomorrow. So I can play Lotto.Ain't you heard? The jackpot's fifty million."
"Yeah, I heard, but I ain't givin' you shit.

Ghetto Fabulous by Angel Hunter
"Little did I know a dream about numbers and a little bit of luck would change my life. What happened? I hit the lottery. Can you believe that shit? Me, a young black girl from the 'hood, who one day decided, what the hell, and bought a ticket, was now a multimillionaire."
P. 188
"I tell you this story to say: never give up hope, never doubt, and always believe. We don't know what life holds in store for us."
I love that second quote! Good words to live by!

One Night...Six Dreams by Dwayne S. Joseph
"I just won the lottery. I just won the goddamn lottery wroth one hundred and eighty million dollars!
"Shit. In my excitement I completely forgot that we all chipped in ten bucks for sixty tickets. I have to share the jackpot."
"But wait a minute. I did all the hard work. No one came with me and stood for over an hour in line to get those tickets. I have the winning tickets and no proof that they contributed anything, so it's my word against theirs. One hundred and eighty million dollars. Split six ways, that's thirty million apiece. Split one way, that's a hell of a lot more to spend."

This third story was my favorite. It was very action packed and had a surprising end!

Gave this book 5 out of 5 stars!

Review of Horse Latitudes by Quentin R. Bufogle

Horse Latitudes

by Quentin R. Bufogle
published November 17th 2008 by PublishAmerica
Paperback, 148 pages

From Goodreads:
Time is running out for Chester Sprockett. How is an unemployed, aspiring novelist supposed to survive when the thirty grand borrowed off his dead father's credit cards is almost gone, and the only work he can find is hawking toys and cheesy novelty items door-to-door . . . on commission yet?

And talk about woman trouble: There's Pandora, the beautiful magician's assistant who dumped him for an investment banker and the dream of becoming a performance artist; Beth, his true love, the girl he let slip through his fingers at the beach (maybe it was all that baby oil) and the mysterious blond nymph who hurls empty beer bottles at him from a black Z28 Camaro.

If it wasn't for the occasional visit from the ghost of his father, Chester would almost certainly be losing his grip on reality, and never navigate his way out of the . . . Horse Latitudes.

My thoughts:
I bought this book used from Barnes and Noble and it seems to be signed by the author, so I am keeping it for sure.

I saw the author on Goodreads and he seemed like a very interesting person, so I had to read his book.

I am not going to tell you what this book is about because you can see this from the Goodreads summary. Here is a quote from page 38: "In the Sargasso Sea there is no wind. Many, many years ago, when ships travel by sail, they would sometimes get stuck here. For weeks and weeks they would sometimes drift, waiting for the wind to come. The sailors called this 'The Horse Latitudes'."

This was just a good all around book and I highly recommend it.

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Review of Mrs. Malory Investigates by Hazel Holt and Giveaway

Mrs. Malory Investigates (Mrs. Malory Mystery #1)

by Hazel Holt
publishedOctober 3rd 1991 by Onyx (first published 1990)

Paperback, 224 pages

I won this book from Nan at Letters from a Hill Farm. I really enjoyed this mystery and read it within a few hours it seems.

Mrs. Malory's friend Charles is planning on marrying Lee Montgomery. Lee wanted to meet with Mrs. Malory. She did let her know that she wasn't madly in love with him, but likes him and since he was wealthy, it would help her out of a sticky situation. Lee ends up disappearing. Lee's receptionist knows a few things and tells Mrs. Malorey who is sworn to secrecy. Lee is seen with another man, but who and what for? Something bad happens, and Ms. Malory is determined to investigate.

I gave this 4 out of 5 stars!

Since I am done with this book, I am going to put it up for a giveaway to one of my followers. I will draw the winner through on July 26.

Review of Just North of Luck by Susan Whitfield and Giveaway

Just North of Luck

by Susan Whitfield
published December 7th 2007 by Infinity Publishing

Paperback, 254 pages

From Goodreads:
The ABCs have never been so twisted! Logan Hunter discovers the link to a psycho on a grisly murder spree when she visits his home and finds an alphabetical chart of victims and methods.Set in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina.

This was a great book! I had it sitting on my bookshelf for a while and decided to pick it up. So glad that I decided to read it!

There are so many things going on in this book! Many murders are happening in a North Carolina town, and they are all school employees. Agent Logan Hunter is sent to North Carolina for a different reason, but ends up working on the murder cases. She rents a room from an art teacher named Taryn Kosterman. There is also a drug operation that is found, and it is surprising who is running it.

This is a fast paced mystery that I read in one day. I gave it 5 stars!

Since I am done with this book, I am now giving it away to one of my followers. Just leave a comment and your e-mail address. I will be giving it away on July 26.

Once Upon a Read-A-Thon Update #2

Well, I finished Spirit Bound yesterday, and now I just finished Just North of Luck by Susan Whitfield. I think I have been doing pretty good. Next I am going to read Mrs. Malory Investigates by Hazel Holt.

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Review of Spirit Bound and Giveaway (and Once Upon a Read-A-Thon update #1)

Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, #5)by Richelle Mead
published May 18th 2010 by Penguin/Razorbill
Hardcover, 489 pages
From Goodreads:
Dimitri gave Rose the ultimate choice. But she chose wrong…
After a long and heartbreaking journey to Dimitri’s birthplace in Siberia, Rose Hathaway has finally returned to St. Vladimir’s—and to her best friend, Lissa. It is nearly graduation, and the girls can’t wait for their real lives beyond the Academy’s iron gates to begin. But Rose’s heart still aches for Dimitri, and he's out there, somewhere.
She failed to kill him when she had the chance. And now her worst fears are about to come true. Dimitri has tasted her blood, and she knows in her heart that he is hunting her. And if Rose won't join him, he won't rest until he's silenced her...forever.

My thoughts:

I loved this book and love this series!

I don't want to give anything away in this book, but as usual Rose is out to try to save Dimitri who was turned strigoi, but now she has a romance going with Adrian. She found out that there may be a way to bring back the undead.

Richelle Mead has a great way of really bringing the characters right out so you feel like you are right there in the story.

The end definately has you wanting more and ends on a cliffhanger.

Since I am now done with this book, I will be giving it away. I will use to pick the winner and will be giving it away on July 26. All I ask is that you are a follower and leave me your e-mail address. Thanks.

Monday, July 12, 2010

Once Upon a Read-A-Thon

You can get more info at:

It goes from Monday through Wednesday.

This is what I am reading:

Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, #5)

by Richelle Mead
(finishing this book)

Just North of Luck

Mrs. Malory Investigates (Mrs. Malory Mystery #1)

by Hazel Holt

Horse Latitudes

by Quentin R. Bufogle

These are all books that I own.

Mailbox Monday - July 12

Mailbox Monday is hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.
We share what books that we found in our mailboxes last week.

I have not been blogging much lately, but my books sure piled up this week. Here is what I got:

Bonds of Justice (Psy-Changeling, #8)

won from Book Lovers, Inc. at


by Teri Woods
won from Drey's Library at http://dreys

Think of a Number

by John Verdon
The book I have is a different cover, as it is an uncorrected proof since the softcover doesn't get published until August 5, 2010. I think this must have come from Shelf Awareness, but I can't remember.


by Bernice L. McFadden
won from my friend Staci at Life in the Thumb at

Once Wicked Always Dead

by T. Marie Benchley
I got this advance uncorrected proof from Shelf Awareness. This book is not published until September 1, 2010.

Dracula in Love

by Karen Essex
I received this galley from Shelf Awareness, and this doesn't actually get published until August 10, 2010.

I had a very good week!